Amsterdam areas map

Areas of Amsterdam map. Amsterdam areas map (Netherlands) to print. Amsterdam areas map (Netherlands) to download. The smallest of Amsterdam areas is the municipality, with a population of 742,981 in 2006 as its shown in Amsterdam areas map. The metropolitan agglomeration had a population of 1,021,870 in 2006. It includes the municipalities of Zaanstad, Wormerland, Oostzaan, Diemen and Amstelveen only, as well as the municipality of Amsterdam. Greater Amsterdam includes 15 municipalities, and had a population of 1,211,503 in 2006.

Areas of Amsterdam map

printPrint system_update_altDownload
Though much larger in area, the population of this area is only slightly larger, because the definition excludes the relatively populous municipality of Zaanstad as its shown in Amsterdam areas map. The largest area by population, the Amsterdam Metropolitan Area (Dutch: Metropoolregio Amsterdam), has a population of 2,22 million. It includes for instance Zaanstad, Wormerveer, Muiden, Abcoude, Haarlem, Almere and Lelystad but excludes Graft-De Rijp. Amsterdam is part of the conglomerate metropolitan area Randstad, with a total population of 6,659,300 inhabitants.
The oldest area of the town of Amsterdam is known as de Wallen (the quays). It lies to the east of Damrak and contains Amsterdam famous red light district as its shown in Amsterdam areas map. To the south of de Wallen is the old Jewish quarter of Waterlooplein. The 17th century canals of Amsterdam, known as the Grachtengordel, embraces the heart of the city where homes have interesting gables.